Will you pay customs on alpaca shipped from Peru?
By the Alpaca Atlas team · Updated · Data as of September 26, 2026, rebuilt with every catalog update · Last reviewed September 27, 2026
Maybe. Since August 29, 2025, packages from every country, Peru included, owe any duties, taxes and fees that apply, even when they are worth $800 or less. You won't pay at the door if the store states that duties are included, or if it ships from within the US. Of the 11 stores we track, 2 state duties are included and 1 states it ships from the US.
What changed in 2025
“De minimis” was the rule that let packages worth $800 or less into the US without duties. That rule no longer applies.
Since August 29, 2025, goods from every country valued at $800 or less no longer enter the US duty-free under the de minimis rule. They owe all applicable duties, taxes and fees. Source: U.S. Customs and Border Protection, fact sheet “Suspension of Duty-Free De Minimis Treatment” (updated August 18, 2025), implementing Executive Order 14324 of July 30, 2025.
On February 20, 2026, Executive Order 14388 continued the suspension for all countries. Since June 24, 2026, CBP rules suspend the de minimis exemption indefinitely, for express couriers and other carriers as well as for mail. Source: Federal Register, CBP interim final rules 2026-12670 and 2026-12669 (June 24, 2026).
We don't list duty rates: they depend on the product, its fiber and the rules in force the day it arrives, and only an official source can confirm them. Sources checked September 27, 2026.
What “duties included” means
“Duties included” (sometimes “DDP”, delivered duty paid) means the store pays the import duties and fees before the package reaches you. Nothing is due at your door.
If the store says duties are not included, or says nothing, the carrier (DHL, FedEx, UPS or the postal service) may ask you to pay before it hands over the package.
- Look for “duties included”, “duty-free” or “DDP” in the store's shipping policy.
- At checkout, see whether a duties or import-fee line is added to your total.
- If nothing mentions duties, assume a carrier may collect them, and ask the store before you order.
- For gifts, a surprise fee lands on the person receiving it. Check before you send.
Store by store
From each store's own shipping policy, quoted. “Inferred” means the store doesn't say it in so many words and we read it from the policy. Data as of September 26, 2026.
Where each store ships from and whether duties are paid at checkout
- All Alpaca
- Ships from:
- Peru
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “Los productos son enviados desde Perú vía Serpost que opera con los Servicios Postales nacionales de cada país.”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Alpaca Collections
- Ships from:
- US
- Fees at the door:
- None: ships from within the US (stated)
- What the store says:
- “these pieces are specially requested from Peru rather than stocked in our U.S. warehouse.”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Etno Alpaca
- Ships from:
- Peru
- Fees at the door:
- May apply (stated)
- What the store says:
- “International Buyers: Import duties are not included in the item price or shipping cost. These charges are the buyer's responsibility.”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Incalpaca
- Ships from:
- Peru (inferred)
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “Los envíos internacionales contemplan los siguientes países: … Estados Unidos … Despacho vía Courier”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Krimson Klover
- Ships from:
- US (inferred)
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “Free domestic shipping on orders over $99”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Kuna USA
- Ships from:
- US (inferred): 377 pieces · Not stated: 202 pieces
- Fees at the door:
- Included (stated)
- What the store says:
- “For shipments to the United States, all taxes and additional fees are assumed by the KUNA USA online store.”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- PAKA
- Ships from:
- Not stated
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “—”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Peruvian Connection
- Ships from:
- US (inferred)
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “SALES TAX: Sales tax will be applied as part of the order total for orders shipped to the following states”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Peruvian Link
- Ships from:
- US (inferred)
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “All products are shipped via USPS, UPS, or FedEx … Our Continental USA shipping model”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Qinti
- Ships from:
- Not stated
- Fees at the door:
- Not stated
- What the store says:
- “—”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
- Sol Alpaca
- Ships from:
- Peru
- Fees at the door:
- Included (stated)
- What the store says:
- “Sol Alpaca operates on a DDP (Delivered Duty Paid) basis. All applicable custom fees, import duties, and local taxes are calculated and collected at checkout.”
- Checked:
- September 26, 2026
About this guide
This is general information for shoppers, not legal or customs advice. Rules change: confirm with the store and the carrier. Last reviewed September 27, 2026.
Frequently asked questions
- Is there still an $800 duty-free limit?
- No. The de minimis exemption was suspended for all countries on August 29, 2025, and CBP made the suspension indefinite in June 2026. Source: Federal Register, CBP interim final rules 2026-12670 and 2026-12669 (June 24, 2026).
- How much will I pay?
- It depends on the product and the rules on the day it arrives. We don't publish rates without an official source. If the store includes duties, you pay nothing extra at the door.
- Which alpaca stores include duties?
- As of September 26, 2026, Kuna USA and Sol Alpaca state that duties are included. See the table above, and alpaca gifts that ship from the US.